Bar Exam Vocab Test

Get out your paper and pencils children

..well I won’t go quite that far.

Today I thought I’d share a few of the new terms that have been introduced into our household. No no no, these aren’t legal terms that actually mean something once you figure them out, they’re gibberish that I’m almost ashamed to admit are used by us on a regular basis.

Even though I work with “normal” non-bar taking people every day, it didn’t occur to me that I’d adapted this geek-speak until coming home after being out of town for a week.

WAG’s: Wives and girlfriends of people taking the bar. I didn’t make this one up; it came from one of our friends who successfully used it in a sentence on the 4th of July. We were commiserating over how depressed our significant others had become and how we needed to ban together!

Bromance: This isn’t unique to the bar exam. It’s the term I affectionately use for the relationship Johnny Law has formed with another one of his fellow test takers. This particular bromance includes meeting up every morning (even at 9am on weekends) to do practice essays, as well as playing pickup basketball outside of the law school during the 10 minute breaks between lectures..I don’t think I need to worry about it blossoming into anything more than this—but then again I guess you never know.

Since I stole this definition from pop culture, I’ve also included the urban dictionary definition here:

A non-sexual relationship between two straight men that are unusually close.

Bar-brained: What Johnny Law is when I get home at night and he starts rambling about a combination of subjects covered that day and real life. Neither of them makes sense, and these conversations typically end once Johnny Law realizes I’ve left the room completely or have just tuned out. Also see bar-fried, bar-buzzed…I could go on all day, but I won’t.

By my best calculations, it looks like Johnny Law’s only got 22 days left until this whole mess is over…if only I had a deloreon.

Leave a Reply

