Graduation Week Is Upon Us

I’m not organized enough to have been counting down the days until Johnny Law’s graduation (why bother really, after graduation he’s still got to pass the bar then get a job before it really means anything), but I have been getting jacked up for a graduation party for at least six months. My family is pretty gung-ho about graduations. Really anywhere requiring my aunties to prepare food is a highly anticipated event, but graduations really take the cake.

I think the excerpt from a conversation I had with my dad outside of my older brother’s high school graduation when I was about 5 years old pretty much sums things up.

Papa John: “You know what, this is probably going to be the best day of your brother’s entire life.”

Naive Me: “Well, what about the day he gets married?”

Papa John: “That’s going to be the worst day of his life.”

This isn’t to say anything bad about my brother. Papa John would say that getting married is the worst day of anyone’s life. (Full disclosure: my parents have been married for 30 years.) But that’s a topic for another blog post, back to graduations..

We are lucky to have about 25 of our closest friends and family coming down for the big day- and they’re expecting big things. In addition to watching Johnny Law show up and officially receive his diploma, a number of them have asked to see tie-dye and hippies. Luckily for them the Eugene Saturday Market started up a few weeks ago, so that’s the first stop on our graduation weekend list. I really hope the weather takes a turn for the better so they can get the full experience of peace drumming and all the usual market characters.

To get them even more excited (and to make those of you at home jealous), I took a lap around my work-neighborhood and snapped some photos to give them a taste of the culture. All these photos were within a block of my office, and three blocks of the market.

Martin Luther King Jr. and Jerry Garcia overlook a forest filled with a group of mythical creatures?

Some interpretative dance and bike riding on rainbows

My favorite car in my parking garage

...and the rising sun

7 responses to this post.

  1. Dawn, you are freckin funny, when may I ask did this happen πŸ˜‰ Love reading your blogg… and FYI from your little hippy friend in Ocean Beach- that first pic is Bob Marley I believe not Dr King πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • I’m not going to fix my caption because everyone should see how stupid I am πŸ™‚ Guess blogging after 11 o’clock at night isn’t the best idea for accuracy.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Steve and Mary on May 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Oh boy, this is going to be fun….we love reading your Blog postings!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Steve and Mary on May 19, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Will we really get to see real, honest to goodness hippies and people wearing retro clothes and tie-dye garb? Sure hope so cuz it will bring back such good memories for us. We are planning to bring some of our special, seldom-worn (possibly moth-eaten) 60’s clothes so that we will fit in better with the locals. We have already started to not bath….we will be 5 days of no bathing by the time we get there. And, you know how often we work out-we will be pretty ripe by Saturday.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Steve and Mary on May 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Oops, I mean not bathe…you get the idea.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Susan on May 21, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Hey Dawn – wow I must have blinders on far too often! Do I not live and work in the very same neighborhood (“live” in this case meaning exist 8-5 Mon-Fri right next to you), yet I haven’t seen some of these images. I really need to get out more. I know you’re fam’s gonna have a great time at the Shrumfest. Last weekend when had been in Tacoma and on our way home, I knew we were close to home when we got to a rest stop and found many who, let’s just say, represent Eugene in all its glory. Ahhh.. there’s no place like home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

