The Cap And Gown Saga

It all started about about month ago.

Johnny Law: “You’re not gonna believe this. Do you know how much they made us pay for these stupid cap and gowns we HAVE to wear on graduation day-How much money have I given to this university already for them to NOT keep the professors I want. I’ll tell you how much, 70 bucks for this ugly thing. And THEN the lady told me I’d have to take it to get dry cleaned. I asked her how much and she said $20- that’s ridiculous!”

Me: Ok. A- You don’t have to get it dry cleaned. Take the crumpled mess out of your backpack and hang it in the bathroom. B- Its called a steamer. I’m sure both of our Mother’s have one, we can borrow it and I’ll steam your gown.

Johnny Law: “Well, they said-“

Me: And C- You don’t actually have to walk in your graduation, so its your own choice. And who cares about $70 anyway?

This saga continued for at least another week. In talking with a few of our friends, I found out that someone had actually asked the person in charge of graduation if they had to buy the gown. The answer was no, you could choose to wear a purple shirt and black slacks. I told Johnny Law not to even think about it. There’s no way I’m claiming the one person too cheap to buy a gown.

Johnny Law even tried to organize a graduation gown pub craw that didn’t quite take shape. Needless to say, he didn’t let the saga die, and he’s made a point of getting his money out of his gown.

This photo doesn’t even show how bad I think this saga’s going to get. Last night he wore it out of the house to pick someone up at the airport. Since there’s still two weeks until graduation day I’m going to call this story To Be Continued…

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christopher Cramer on May 10, 2010 at 8:22 am

    This is the Johnny Law that I know and love!! You go, man! Haha the airport? I love it.

    Reply

  2. Oh come on, make that pub crawl happen! What the hell else we going to do on say… Wednesday? I’m with Johnny Law here–I want that thing smelling like booze, cigarettes and BO before I return that rental.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Susan on May 10, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Love the bare feet.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Gingerhater on May 10, 2010 at 11:08 am

    i just want to point out how that red hair completely classes with the purple and black
    you have no soul, sir
    no soul at all

    Reply

  5. Posted by Shrummy on May 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I think Johnny Law should wear it to my graduation as well, why not?

    Reply

    • He actually brought that up as we were going to sleep last night. Then he realized he had to return it the day after graduation. Aawwww shucks!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Sis on May 12, 2010 at 12:07 am

    He looks like a professor from Hogwarts. That better be his outfit for the midnight showing of Harry Potter in November. And for good measure, why not The Hobbit whenever that comes out?

    Rock it.

    Reply

  7. Crazy talk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

