Anxiety Dreams

Life post-bar exam has continued to entertain me. I enjoy having Johnny Law “back”, and we’ve actually been hanging out during the week and enjoying each others company (I know, pretty hard to believe).

As the weeks have gone on however, he’s begun to get even more anxiety around learning his bar exam results. I think part of it has to do with the fact that Oregon test takers get their results this Friday. If you know anyone who took this bar, please, please, just leave them alone on results day. Most I know are planning to hibernate to play it safe in the event that results aren’t optimal. Do NOT tell them you’re sure they’ll pass, or that everyone says it’s harder than it really is. That is NOT what they want to hear.

I think our friends’ anxiety has rubbed off on us. When I woke up this morning the first thing Johnny Law told me (well the only thing…and usually he doesn’t tell me anything at that hour) was that he had a series of anxiety dreams where he found out he didn’t pass the bar. The first was him realizing he didn’t pass, the next one was him having a dream that he didn’t pass…you get the idea. The man has gone crazy!

Worst of all, I then realized that I also had a TERRIBLE dream..the same anxiety dream I always have- that I have a child. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has this dream from time to time. It wasn’t my usual dream where I think I’m in labor and don’t really know who the father is. I think I might actually be more troubled because in this dream I had a child and was just hanging out and enjoying it (don’t recall if it was a boy or a girl).

Either way, we’ve now both gone mad. No more late night snacking for us.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lauren on September 24, 2010 at 8:41 am

    You just had that dream because I was talking about kidnapping babies last night! Totally normal! ;)

    Reply

  2. Posted by jane on September 24, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Have you named your imaginary dream child? Certainly its something something Shrum.

    Reply

  3. I think I’ve resisted naming because then it really seems to get real..I knew I wasn’t the only crazy woman out there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

